As Told By Ginger

By 9to12

A Day On The Potomac

Raymond, Olivia and I met some of the locals on our morning run.

After another rushed breakfast, we all walked down to the river for our trip. Gerod and I took a tandem kayak out on the water, and it was his first time ever in a kayak. He was pretty good for a first-timer.

It was a long paddle, but eventually we made it to the lunch spot. We had a working lunch and had a final OST session before we had to lock in. I spent all of my time in Community Action and it was awesome. I brought up the idea of a Community Conservation Calendar and our group really ran with it.

Back on the river for the rest of the afternoon. I spoke with Sara, Alex, Juliet, and Katie for quite a bit. Just before we got out of the river, we had a little "oil spill" by wrapping a black cloth around our kayaks and canoes. We all hopped out of the water and rode buses back to NCTC.

We showered and then went to dinner. On our way into the cafeteria, we locked into our OST groups, and I chose Community Action. It was an awesome choice.

We watched A Fierce Green Fire: The Battle For A Living Planet and it was awesome. Later, we went to the Roosevelt Room and heard Juan Martinez speak. Funny enough, I had already met him (and got it autograph) at TED Youth 2011!

I wrote my blog entry for the GSA blog and then finished my internship application before finally going to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.