flavia13

By flavia13

THE PRINCESS DIARIES

Well it fair blew a hoolie in the night.  This morning it has been sunshine and heavy showers, quite blowy and some hail.

A lot of traffic on the A590 as I left to pick G up.  I decided to go via Kendal due to the huge puddles around Grange, as I was sure that wuld be OK.  I got to Oxenholme with no problem though, but it took me three attempts at driving around to be able to get parked eeekkk!!!  Even then I was having to do parallel parking (which I'm rubbish at), I'd just got myself sorted for that when the car in front of me pulled out!!!!!  Then I went to sit in the waiting room on Platform 1 but it was locked due to renovating or decorating or something!!  Oh well never mind, it explained why the platform was so busy though.  However it was too blowy and cold to sit on the platform for 40 minutes to wait so I went over to Platform 2 for a coffee in the cafe - and for once it was open whilst I was there - yeah!!  I managed to get the last seat in the cafe so enjoyed a cappuccino and read my Kindle.

G's train arrived on time (yeah to that) and he had a good journey.  We then headed off but up the A65 this time.  Now this is a great route but there is just one small section which is narrow due to cars parked in front of houses, no problem if you are mindful.  Today I had gone past the point of waiting behind the parked cars when a white van came round the corner and kept coming - he must have seen me but still believed it was his right of way, even though there was nowhere for me to pull in!!!  He glared at the me as we drove past as he suddenly realised he needed to stop!!  I was always taught to read the road ahead, which he obviously didn't do!!!  Ah well never mind, we got through OK.

No further incidents.  We decided to go to Haverthwaite Station for an early lunch.  G has the soup as he really likes that I just had a jacket potato, with good coffee.  However they have now gone down the takeaway route.  You can eat it, but you now order at the counter but everything comes in polystyrene tubs or paper bags, coffee in paper cups, which I'm not that keen on - I'm old fashioned and still like proper plates, cutlery and cups.  Mind you I do understand why - the sheer volume makes it difficult for the staff.  Maybe more eco-friendly too but then I would have said polystyrene was eco-friendly but I may be wrong  on that.  Still never mind, we enjoyed the atmosphere and as I said the food and coffee was good.  

Whilst sat there a train came in, so after they'd moved the train from the back to the front I went out to take some photos.  Then later on, when it was ready to go I went out to take this shot as Princess was about to move off and the driver kindly looked in my direction for the photo.

We then had a look in the shop before coming home. 

That's all from me for today.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.