Keith B

By keibr

More Birds

Two days ago they were nearly all siskins, yesterday they were nearly all chaffinches, today the bramblings have arrived. In this picture there's one siskin and I think there's a single chaffinch.  Where did yesterday's and the day before's birds go? Have they continued northwards? Are they all under my neighbour's bird-feeder?  I don't know, but realistically I guess they are mostly headed northwards.
Another sign of spring that has become something of a rite for me is blipping the first sight of the rhubarb (extra). This seems to us to have been a tough winter with 6 months of snow, and a lot of snow at that. There have been some long periods of fairly cold weather, below -20°C. However, this is the earliest I've seen the snow melt away to reveal that slightly alien looking plant pushing up through soil. I've missed some years but these are the dates...
2016 & 17 - 3 May
2019 & 21 - 24 April
2023 - 29 April
2024 - 15 April
Climate change?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.