momcat1

By momcat1

Olive sparrow

Went to Laguna Atascosa NWR today . The trails right around the Visitor's Center were very productive for birds, most of which I had not seen before. This little one is an olive sparrow , that I must admit was not ID'd until I was able to lighten up the photo because it was in shade when I took it and it looked brown and dark. IT was chipping at us because it had a fledgling nearby and wasn't happy with us. It flew to a tree about 50 yards away and the fledgling followed . 
I did get some good photos and we found another spot that is right on S Padre as well , a haven of 6 acres a land trust bought for migrants needing a stopover. i did get to see couple of Baltimore Orioles  and a Kentucky warbler but as it is a small area and was crowded missed the waterthrush and painted bunting as I was hanging to the back , I don't like pushing in and also i was trying not to cough. I thought the cough was asthma as I did not feel sick at all , but since this all started yesterday with postnasal drip and my usual course of action is if it isn't gone in 24 hours check a Covid test. that is what I did. And after 4years 7 vaccines ( last one almost 6 most ago darn it ) I finally got the damn thing. So now I am stuck in the hotel room for the next 4 days . At least. 
Just gotta love it. But I was able to see a lot in the interim I guess. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.