MrsK277

By MrsK277

Hindsight

Beautiful sunny day. 5min dip at 15° is a good start. Buzzing around the ground for the first game of the season. I made some cinnamon buns for MrK and his boys that went down a treat, and FK and I watched the cricket for a while.
I'd stripped the beds, washed and put out to dry first thing, so they were dry to iron when we got back, while FK got back to his studies. Once most of the crowd were in (they queue up right outside the house),
I popped out to do the weekly shop, and got back before they all pour out for lunch! I do love the atmosphere though.
 I couldn't put it off any more and FK helped me work out the measurements of water to cement. We carefully moved the mesh mosaic well away, while I mixed and spread it on the slate base. I should have started again then, as I felt the cement was too thick and not thinset like the name suggests! Hindsight is a wonderful thing! I then turned the slate around, so that I could reach all corners, so the fixing holes were now at the bottom. When setting the mosaic in the cement, which already seemed to be drying, I hadn't remembered to turn it round so the hole areas matched up.....until I'd well and truly pressed it down! Called for FK's help again, who, bless him, was very calming, and we lifted and turned it round. By this stage, I should have scrapped it and started again. So what I'm left with, is a partially cemented mosaic and many tiles to stick back on!! Gutted. It needs a rethink. I took some pictures of the mass of creeping flowers to cheer me up!
Picked up FK  from a friend's birthday party at 11pm and I'm very thankful he has no interest in alcohol and is full of empathy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.