If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Forget me not ( Myosotis arvensis )

At long last a dry day, and one that felt comfortable in shirt sleeves.  Making the most of the conditions I managed to get out and do some gardening.  My major aim was to weed out masses of self seed Teasels.  Clickychick brought a teasel head home a few years ago, since then they come up everywhere.

While in the garden I noticed this little group of Forget me not.  CC has wanted to grow them down in her "woodland garden".  Typical of nature they will appear anywhere round the garden other than where she wants them.  It is only recently (well recently compared to how long I have been alive) that I found out why some of the flower centres are white and some yellow.  The white ones have been pollinated and the yellow haven't.  Presumably this is a signal for insect pollinators.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.