MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Geocaching around Marbury and the canal

I went to Marbury Country Park to do some geocaching around the park and the canal. I walked a long way and too far but I got carried away. I have done over 22,000 steps and will probably not be able to move tomorrow!
The beautiful cherry tree is close to the main car park in Marbury CP and the extra photo is a sculpture just outside the park.
I had a weird experience on the canal towpath, although I wasn't aware it was as weird as it was at the time.
I came across a pile of stuff beside the towpath which appeared to have come from one of the boats (barges, whatever the correct term is) and I wondered if some of the boats had taken on water (one definitely had as it was partly submerged) with the bad weather we've had recently - thought maybe they were on the grass to dry off or to clear out. Anyway, I carried on past more boats and then I saw another pile of stuff (looked like bedding in a pile across the towpath) with a lady crouched down at the end of it near the trees and she seemed to be spreading it out so I thought perhaps it was to dry it as she was close to a boat with the doors open. I thought it a bit odd that she had it spread across the towpath as it meant I'd have to step over it or edge round it close to the canal and as there was only a bit of space there I feared falling into the canal so I stepped over it. I didn't want her to think me rude for stepping over her stuff so I said I didn't want to risk going so near to the edge. she didn't reply.
A bit further up the towpath I took a couple of photos of the canal - one facing ahead and one facing behind. Only when I got home and looked at the photos did I see what appeared to a bare foot sticking out of the pile of stuff and now I am mortified wondering if someone was hurt / in need of attention that I might have helped with. I was thinking she was weird to have her stuff spread over the towpath and she probably thought I was weird for stepping over someone under the covers! She was crouched where someones head would have been so would have been obscuring a head the way I approached.  A couple of people I have showed the photo (it's not clear as it's from a distance so you have to zoom in which doesn't give a clear view) think ti might be a homeless person that she was with. I have been worrying about it but nothing you can do when you don't know what's going on. I don't wear my distance specs when caching as I would have to keep taking them off to look at the GPSr or my phone or the caches.
When I got back to my car it started hailstoning so I took my flask and sat in the car for a brew.
Ont he way home I had 1) hailstone, 2) heavy, hard hailstone, 3) snow and 4) torrential rain with large pools of water on the roads and difficult to see through the torrential rain that was hitting the windscreen - repeat steps 1-4 at least twice more. I came to a traffic jam on Wilderspool Causeway in Warrington but the sun was shining!
Terry said there had been no rain, no snow, no hail at home.
I had hoped he'd have pegged the washing out but he hadn't noticed it and I could have phoned him but I thought he'd see it in the machine! Hope tomorrow is a good drying day. Hope I can walk!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.