Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Sun-dried ...

No, not me - though I have to say today's sunshine did light things up a bit. I'd even remembered to close the right-hand curtain so that the sun didn't wake me, so that was good. I walked down to my painting class full of the joys, even if I did discover halfway that it was still rather chilly and not quite a day to have my jacket floating open. Class was a bit manic today - I felt I was the only one trying to make headway with my painting and learn a bit about colour mixing as everyone else seemed to be there for the social intercourse ... Trouble is, I really need to channel my inner Lulu on Tuesdays, and it's hard.

When I'd walked home again, we both went out just so's Himself would get some sun and be useful helping me carry home some flour and stuff from the Health shop. We diverted down to the West Bay first, just so see the ripples of the offshore wind shining in the sunlight - such a change. People were greeting total strangers with great enthusiasm, exclaiming at the change, the light, the absence of rain ...

And then I went home and created a pasta sauce with the remaining two sausages from last night, some tender stem broccoli chopped up, half an orange pepper, an onion and some garlic - and the fantastic dried oregano, one stalk of which is today's photo. Years ago in Crete I bought an improbable-looking bunch of dried something - hard, woody stalks, dusty curling leaves - and found not only that it was wonderfully pungent oregano but also that it lasted right to the end of the bunch with its flavour intact, as long as the leaves were still on the stalks. This is my latest bunch, part of our Christmas present from #2 son of a great bag of Italian goodies from Valvona & Crolla, and both scent and flavour are wonderful.

Choir practice seemed all set to be difficult because we thought there would be only 3 singers present (illness and holidays). In the event there were four, and the singing was just great - we stuck to the four-part stuff (Himself sings bass) which was mostly renaissance and my fave music, and there was a real unanimity of sound and purpose which is a joy to be part of. So an evening which started off glum ended on a high - a knackered high, to be sure, but one worth having. 

That said, why am I still sitting here typing ...?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.