An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

What's the Story?

As the weather forecast hasn't been great all week (but has turned out better than expected) we were late in booking the ferry to Mull and could only get on the lunch time ferry.  

Blue skies and sunshine as we headed out on to the open water with spectacular views in every direction.  Scotland is so beautiful, I just wish everyone could see my wee country on days when the skies are blue and the sun is shining :-)

Due to our mis-timing, we were more than ready for lunch when we disembarked from the ferry, and headed straight to the Isle of Mull Hotel for lunch.  Sat in the sea deck bar with its wonderful views of Craignure Bay  Lismore lighthouse and the stunning Ben Cruachan, the Hollow Mountain.

The burgers we ordered were okay, any other time we would have said good, but I think we've been spoiled by the exceptional quality of the food we've had so far this week.  And they were a bit difficult to eat as being a bar, it was slouchy sofas and low tables, not great for trying to eat food with a knife and fork.  Miraculously my boobs stayed food free....but only because I tucked the napkin into the neck of my top so I was sitting there like a middle aged toddler! David didn't laugh at me....much :-)

Soon we were on our way to Balamory Tobermory, and what a wonderful drive it is.  The scenery is spectacular!  I would have been so sad to miss it all if it had been a rainy day with low cloud covering all the hill and mountains.

Tobermory was every bit as charming as I thought it would be, and a lovely sheltered cove.  There was a lot of heat in the sun and no wind so we headed to The Gallery for coffee and biscoff cake for D and tea and a vanilla and walnut pastry for me.  We sat outside in the sun to have it, jacket free!  Really could not believe what a beautiful day it turned out to be.  

Had a wander along past all the brightly coloured buildings.  Such a recognisable little bay.  I couldn't stop singing the theme tune to Balamory!  Hahahahaha...I wonder how many people can't help themselves as they wander along.  I pondered that Tobermory was also the name of one of the Wombles, another iconic UK children's tv programme, and before you could say Great Uncle Bulgaria, we were singing the Wombles theme tune!  We are easily amused :-)))

All too soon it was time to go back to the car and head back for the ferry, but the journey back was faster than expected so we had time to explore the road past the ferry port at Craignure.

Back at the ferry the ferrymen and women once again, could not have been more helpful in ensuring we were parked next to the lift with enough space to get my wheels out of the boot.  We have been on many, many ferry crossing and on every single one, the staff have been amazing.  Great to see the Mull team are the same.  
Another smooth crossing with the sun low and slipping towards the mountains.  I could have asked D to go to the outside deck for photos but instead we stayed inside and just enjoyed watching it all unfold before us. 

Once back at the house we made bacon sandwiches and planned our activities for tomorrow.  The weather forecast is horrendous!  Heavy rain, strong winds and cold.  I think we will go out for lunch and make that our main meal, then back to the house and I will finally get my chance to sit at those stunning windows and paint.  D I suspect, will watch golf.  

Selection of photos from today in extras.  

Coastline, Coffee and Cake!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.