heanku

By heanku

Albania

I would like to thank you all for your commitment to my journey. VeroS guessed correctly on the town I spent the first night, H0tamer even knew which hotel. Unbelievable. Many of you guessed correctly which area of Europe I was travelling to and many, many understood which country it was about. You are all so knowledgeable. Thank you so much for all the nice suggestions. 


The first night we stayed at hotel Panorama in Kruja, Albania. The second day was to the Divjaka-Karavesta National Park. There me, and my husband of course, made a boat trip and watched nature and birds. Then we went to the "stone city" of Gjirokaster.


A bit of prehistory to how we ended up in Albania in the first place. As a young and stupid 20-year-old, I hardly knew that Albania existed, it was a colleague who talked about the country. I was curious. And went there. 
It was not so easy to travel to Albania at that time, because the country was closed to foreigners, only a few thousand tourists were allowed to enter the country per year. I traveled around, in a group, that was all that was allowed, in large parts of Albania.
It is a very beautiful and mountainous country. What I remember best is the "Stone city" of Gjirokaster. An old city, now on the UNESCO list. 
And my husband has heard me talk about this beautiful country many times, so now we decided to come here. 
We are eight people interested in nature and culture who have a local guide and a small bus and drive around here. We have an absolutely wonderful time here despite the bad wifi and thunderstorms that provide power outages.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.