Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

A friend is someone who gives you plants.

A wet day today - just as the forecast said! I spent the morning sorting photographs - another two days' worth! Why do I take so many? Because I can, I suppose!

After lunch I drove up to Taynuilt, half an hour away, to visit my friend Dave who runs a garden/nursery. We sat inside over a coffee while the rain poured down and when that was over we spent a couple of hours wandering round his very 'informal' garden, looking at plants. We do quite a bit of swapping and it's always good to see how my plants are doing, if they're not dead!

He dug me up a clump of Erythronium 'Pagoda', a lovely yellow cultivar - I shall plant this on my bank tomorrow. Suddenly realised that time had moved on fast and just made home in time for dinner!

Random quote of the day: 'Outside of a dog, a book is a man's best friend. Inside of a dog it's too dark to read.' - Groucho Marx.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.