This is the day

By wrencottage

Granny's Dolly

Granny is wishing at the moment that she too was lying down like her dolly … she’s feeling a tad weary.

Our granddaughters have been with us after school again this afternoon, and have played many games of hide and seek with Uncle Bean (aka The Traveller). Granny has been typesetting place name cards, table plans and various other items of stationery which are required for the wedding, and Smithers has been performing his usual chef duties with aplomb.

I haven’t taken a single photo today, so I asked Dolly if she would mind being used for my blip because she has been much in demand by the littlies as a playmate. They did ask very nicely if they could play with her, so how could I refuse? But it has to be said that Dolly’s hairdo has suffered a slight malfunction over the past few months, and her once-pristine plaits have sadly unravelled.

I enjoy seeing the girls play with her, though, and especially so because the blanket Dolly is tucked up in was knitted by my mother for The Traveller when he was born nearly 39 years ago. It’s a Shetland Isle "Robe of Glory" pattern, and I love it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.