ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Can We Fix It

Yep. Eventually.
Down to Chester today to check up on mum. I knew that the garage door had stopped working so that was my first job. Mum had no idea how it had become broken, but my guess would be that she’d pressed the button to open it when there was something solid on the other side, thus stopping it opening. The two screws that attached the bracket to the top of the door had pulled out and wouldn’t reattach. My solution was to drill all the way through the door and reattach the bracket with coach bolts. Effective, though not exactly elegant. It also took a bit longer than I thought, as the door was made of very tough metal and my drill bits were pretty blunt! In fact, I actually snapped a couple of them during the process, which didn’t help.
The other thing I’d spotted whilst I was there was that her laundry drying rack(s) had ceased to be functional, so I purchased a new one for her that might not topple over as much. Unfortunately, the box contained only a plethora of tubes and plastic brackets that needed assembling into the finished article you see in the picture. Quite a fiddly job, but we got there in the end. However it was also a time consuming job, so it wasn’t until 5pm that we headed back towards Kendal. On the way down, we’d had a reasonable run in dry weather but it was now raining heavily. Factor in rush hour and roadworks, and we had to endure a couple of hours of stop-start misery before the traffic eased, so we didn’t get home until 8.30!
Anyway, tea in the oven now and we’re relaxing in front of the telly. The car needs unpacking but I reckon that can wait until tomorrow…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.