One Step at a Time

By thepoacher

Tipping Point

This is, without a doubt, the hardest shot to set up that I have taken this year. The concept was fairly simple since, at mid-day today, we reached the exact midpoint of the year. So to the left of the 12 are Easter bunnies, sunshine and strawberries and to the right is the descent into Autumn, Winter, Holly and Christmas. I'll confess now and admit that I actually did this at mid-night rather the mid-day but it still works for me. Once I had managed to get the tripod high enough, the remaining difficulties I had stemmed from the lighting of the shot. Initially there were terrible reflections from the room lights then shadows from, well, just about everywhere. I got some quite nice shots with bounced flash but ended up using a table lamp to side light it. It's not perfect but at least it's very nearly what I set out to create. Other possible titles for this shot were 'Top Dead Centre' and 'What's the Sprig Idea ?'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.