Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Tales of the unexpected

A really interesting day!   I'd previously arranged to visit Graham and Kat in Colchester, and wondering how best to get there - drive (no beer and the A12 is horrid these days) or train (quite expensive and have to go in to town) - when it occurred to me to check out the local bus service. Wow! There's a bus from my nearest stop that goes to the town centre of Colchester, and just a short walk from Graham's house, and, wait for it - the ticket was just £2!  After walking Rufus, I caught  the midday service and thoroughly enjoyed an hour's journey through the Essex countryside with panoramic views on the almost empty bus.

A peaceful afternoon chatting, and Graham set up my new phone for me, (I bought it on line last week) and of course some mandatory playing with it followed until the three of us went to a country pub they like for a pint before dropping me at the bus stop to wait for the 17.45 bus back to Chelmsford. 

There were several people waiting at the bus stop. A huddle of teenage boys and an 'old' man who looked a bit, well, not entirely sober.  I mention this only because of what happened next. The three boys were around 16-17 and each had an instrument case so I guessed they were going home after school orchestra practice. I couldn't resist asking what they played explaining that I am a retired High School music teacher, and we were very quickly chatting about all things music performance - when, I must say rather unexpectedly,  the bloke on the bench joined in - he plays guitar and had things to say about the significance of music in life. We talked until the boys' bus came and that left this bloke and me with a 10 minute wait for our bus, but it was late, so in the end we were talking for a further half an hour.  We talked about a lot of things - life, universe et al, including music and egg boilers - and he really made me laugh - we made each other laugh. A lot. His parting words as he got off our bus some time later was a name to check out on you tube. Once home I did just that, and I found a vid of him playing his own song.  

I am reminded that each and every one of us can surprise and be surprised by the unexpected - as long as we are given, and take, the opportunity. 



Too occupied to take a photo in Colchester, so here's a night time pic of Rufus, taken using my new phone :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.