Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

The Pines

The day dawned cloudy with a brisk nor-west wind blowing. No sign of pinks or reds or gold in the sky at all. But undeterred I trekked up the Wither Hills armed with DSLR and tripod. The photography was uninspiring and a bit depressing. Particularly when a number of walkers I passed told me of the "wonderful" and "spectacular" dawn sky that was to be seen from up on the hills.... yesterday.
I captured a number of images but none grabbed me. Then I turned my eyes to where the sky was the brightest. That was to the east and over to the neighbouring ridge. There is a line of "old man pines" up on the top of the ridge. It is a well-known landmark. I sometimes walk right around the ridges and along the row of pines and back to the flats via that ridge. There are wonderful views to be had from up there.
When the weather improves I will head up there with the DSLR and tripod and capture some blips.
It will be a very sad day for Blenheim folk when those old pines die off and need to be felled. They have become so much of the Wither Hills Farm Park.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.