Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Gum and Stars

I didn't take a photo today, and the sky was clear, so out onto the deck went I, for a little look at the sky.

Result. 8)

I used the Star Walk app on my iPhone to help aim the camera towards the densest part of the Milky Way: I held the phone, with the screen showing what is in the sky behind the phone, directly in front of and level with the camera, and moved the two together until it seemed I had it aimed right. It seemed a bit lower than I would've thought, but I clicked anyway, and found the tree in frame. After a moment's hesitation I decided to go ahead with the tree in the photo, even though that meant a bit more of the light from the 'Rif would be creeping into the bottom of the frame, and I wouldn't get as clean a shot of the stars; I just liked the idea of the earth (represented by the tree) and the stars in the same shot.

So. Moar Dr Who nao.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.