Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Morning Sky

Up before Sol this morning. As I went to the garage to get some firewood, I noticed three bright points of light in a lovely line - obvious even to my dodgy eyes sans glasses. I decided that the fire could wait, but Venus and Jupiter (the brighter two were obviously them) might not, as the sky lightened.

I threw my Pentax 50mm onto my camera with aperture at f/2, set up my tripod, and clicked the shutter. The result: too bright, as I had left it on aperture priority. So, chuck it into manual, get the ISO back to 100 instead of 800, and take a succession of shots at lengthening shutter openings. This was, I thought, the best: the same 2s exposure as the aperture priority one, but with the ISO down it was much better. However, I did add a screen layer to brighten it a touch ... And I can't recall whether this one was the version I did with a bit of an overlay layer or not. Ah well....

So ... Jupiter on the far left, Venus in the middle with a little halo, and Aldebaran (I ought to have mentioned: my mother's favourite star) the little slightly red dot further right. Do make it largerer.

Also I'm rather pleased with my exertions today: I ran between home, railway stations, and hospitals, with no pains. Yay! Also also, heading home at the end of the day I must've been quite close to a 6 minute mile - and didn't collapse dead at the end. So that pleases me greatly. 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.