talloplanic views

By Arell

Africa

It's fair to say that, what with gallivanting up and down the country and doing literally thousands of miles on Fidra the Pan Euro, I've not given my trusty, rusty Africa Twin much love over the past eleven months.

Actually that's a lie.  I've not given her any love at all.  She has barely turned a wheel in fact.  She was due an MOT last May, and then I got Covid.  And since it's now Fidra who needs work, I had to sort the brakes on the AT because they had sort of clamped themselves harder and harder onto the discs and she had become almost immovable.  I need to send her out of the garage so that Fidra can move in to have her forks taken apart.  The experts say that's a day's work.  I, however, have never taken motorbike forks apart before and it will probably take me several.

It took most of this afternoon to partially disassemble the three brake calipers on the AT, clean and regrease all the sliders and sort the pistons, and put it all back together, a task I've done several times.  That said, she is an enduro* bike and wrenching is an awful lot easier than with Fidra, who has the world's most complicated braking system and more body panels than British Leyland's ownership of Pressed Steel.

After a long rest there was just enough left in my tank to cycle to the shops for supplies and to get something for tea.

* ish

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.