Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Arch

Would you be have been willing to come through this arch with me today?

Yes? Wrong answer, unless you were wearing wellies and were prepared to carry me.

We did our usual cleaning of the lodge today. Why do people with dogs ignore the letting agency's instruction about not letting dogs into bedrooms? If they know they will do this, why don't they bring a sheet to overlay my pure white duvet cover? Yes, they'd been before, they knew I had white bedding!

So, rant over, I want to step up my dog-friendly profile, that means I have to describe dog walks. The welcome dog pack with ball, treats and bags is the easy bit.

53 years ago, I was sent on teaching practice to stay in a house opposite this arch. The lad who later became my first husband took me on a walk on this footpath. I was thrilled, it lead magically to a view of a mansion "in the middle of nowhere". I later realised it was Dalemain..

With searching for dog walks in mind, The Man and I went through the arch. Entering a field we found the earth was soft and well used by animals. Very soft, we have had a lot of rain. I expected a footpath, not a quagmire! I was wearing light slip-on shoes. Yes, slip-ons are also slip-offs. Off came my shoe, you know the walking momentum, on I went in my stocking foot and down over my ankle in mud!

I never did see that amazing view, I think the path has been re-routed due to a housing development. I got home, unable to go shopping in my muddy footwear and was washing my shoes.  "No" said The Man, "you needed new shoes, throw them out".

Thankfully, when I searched I had a pair of trainers I'd forgotten about. Footwear sorted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.