KateH

By KateH

Blue

I was going to blip the first rose, the pink Zephrine Drouhin that I planted on the back of the house and which has romped away to success.  Last year we had two flowerings and this year, although the deer ate a lot of buds one time they came close to the house it is doing ok. It does get blackspot but I have planted a salvia beneath it so let’s see if that helps. 

But this view out of the car windscreen on the way back from Pilates stopped me, and the car and I had to take it.  I don’t think we’re going to get to the best bluebell wood in the area this year, too many competing things at weekends but I love the banks in this lane.   I know I’ve done bluebell lanes already but they won’t be here for ever. 

Spent the day prepping for a big lunch party tomorrow and so went to Cowdray for specials and Petersfield for shopping and then made a cake/pudding and prepped for the main course.  

But in the early evening whilst V cooked supper I did make it out in the garden and with the wind dropped and the sun shining there was a real sense of coming warmth and spring. 

We watched an episode of The Gentleman, daft but good fun,  before a relatively early night.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.