jochimphuket

By jochimphuket

Photo Challenge Day #18: Shoes

This is a common sight throughout Thailand -- not just outside of temples but homes, businesses, medical clinics, massage parlors, and more. Come to think of it, one of the few places that I have never seen patrons remove their shoes is at bars and restaurants. I guess that makes sense.

This small collection of shoes is outside of the main chedi (like a stupa) of Wat Chalong, Phuket's most famous of its 29 Buddhist temples. The amount (and variety of footwear was much greater just an hour later but I couldn't get a decent photo as people were clamoring over me to get up the steps. There were A LOT of tourists there! 

I always worry whether my shoes will still be there when I come back for them. They almost always are (sometimes moved a little to one side or the other). The only time I have had my shoes stolen in SE Asia was at a guesthouse in Laos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.