Ilja

By Ilja

Not as planned

And here I am at home while E had his chess game (last competition round this season). Just before we should leave home I started feeling bad.

I have Achelasia, an esophageal disorder, which sometimes causes severe esophageal spasms. Unfortunately also today.
Fortunately, my husband was able to arrange something at work, so he is now with E and the team. This is really not for him, he has no interest in chess, doesn't know anyone there and having fun while waiting is not easy if you don't like reading or crocheting ;-P Tablets and telephones are prohibited in the gaming room, a walk around the neighborhood is not possible because E may need help getting drinks or the toilet.
But he did't hesitate for a second: He decided in less than a second that he was going with E.
And I'm waiting to see how it will end today, the chess (and the spasms). If they win they maintain this level, if they draw it depends on other results, if they lose they will be relegated. I fear it will be difficult: the opponent is one of the strongest in this competition...

Faded tulips...I still think they are a beautiful photo subject.

***Update after a (loud and chaotic phone call): the team won! They are now celebrating at a local restaurant. E's draw game secured the team win.
My husband is adopted by the team as a good luck charm.

The esophageal spasms are finally subsiding after a whole afternoon. We will get there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.