secret garden

By freespiral

The bird's nest

I know a place, in the ivy on a tree,
Where a bird's nest is, and the eggs are three,
And the bird is brown, and the eggs are blue,
And the twigs are old, but the moss is new,
And I go quite near, though I think I should have heard
The sound of me watching, if I had been a bird.

John Drinkwater


OMG - the fifth day of glorious weather! I think we reached the giddy heights of 16c today though it felt much hotter and I have pink shoulders! The trouble with good weather is there is so much to do in the garden! We have both worked hard- Himself sorting out the reed beds which deal with the grey and darker matter (!) - he's doing a thorough clear of them and  I have dug up the flags and comfrey which aid the process and will replant them later. Whilst taking down an exuberant shrub we were horrified to find we had inadvertently disturbed the habitat of a little nest. A blackbird I think. I put it in the fork of a nearby tree but am not hopeful. Isn't it beautifully made. 


We also finally emptied one compost bin - three spoons, two forks, a washing up brush and two scourers discovered which shouldn't have been there. Good stuff though. I've also done a bit of strimming/weed whacking. 


A G&T has been taken and it is now relaxation time.


By the way, thank you for all the kind comments on the TV programme and I hope you've all found out how to get the subtitles - they make life much easier!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.