Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

1976 Soweto

A great educational but slightly harrowing trip today to Soweto (South African  West Township). 

We went to the Hector Pieterson museum. Although all this happened in my lifetime when we were only given a certain view on it then and I was only little so didn't understand it all. Yes I know everyone has their bias but I came out of there feeling very emotional and humbled frankly.  

A quick synopsis of peaceful demonstrations and protests by the school children of South Africa initially about being forced to be taught in Afrikaan which was not their language.The demos were met with police who looking at the evidence presented shot and killed the children. It all sounded horrific frankly and it's late tonight so I cannot go into all the detail but I now have a so much better understanding of the whys and wherefores of the situation. Rather like nazi Germany. They gave primary evidence of the photographs and the broadcasts. I have got to say I am so glad I saw this.

16th June 1976. about 176 pupils killed (possibly 700) of the 20,000 students protesting. This was a key moment which sparked resistance to apartheid.

I still have no place on the plane tomorrow ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.