Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Rivers and rocks

We started out this morning at the New River at Sandstone Falls which included a nature trail as well has the waterfall which is the middle top photo plus the bird's eye view from the overlook way above the river.  The horseshoe photo is the New River at the Grandview overlook. Way Down!! We also saw a train on the track there along the river full of coal.  This area of West Virginia is coal country and I guess they are still mining for use at coal-powered power plants or for selling overseas.  The train photo in the extras.

The cairn I built at the river...balancing the rocks made me slow down. Then I saw the heart shaped rock.   Made my day.

 Dee and Holly walked on so I was there by myself.   So peaceful at the water.   

 There were dogwoods and silverbells blooming all along the river.  We saw plenty of tiny spring wildflowers. I will put the silverbell tree in the extras. 

At Grandview overlook we walked the Tunnel Trail.  It was an amazing, awe inspiring walk over rocks with rock walls beside the trail that went up 30 or 40 feet.   Dee and I decided to take a "short cut" which was a butt slide down a few rocks which involved lots of giggling.   We have videos on my Facebook page.   It was a great way to end the trip.  Photos of the tunnel in the extras.

Going home tomorrow and Holly will be heading up to her home in Vermont.   Until our next adventure.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.