IronWill2013

By IronWill2013

Ups and downs

The other day I said I was hoping for 3 bits of good news. Two of them came true .... I found a new tenant for my flat, and I finally received my subscription gift from Practical Photography magazine. However ... I was not so lucky with the third. I received word from the police today that they are issuing me with three options on my speeding case:

1) Speed course
2) Fixed £60 penalty and 3 points on my license
3) Court action

I was found to be speeding in a 30 mph zone.

I have never received a speeding ticket before. I'm a bit embarrassed to say the least, and a wee bit miffed. I was speeding, so fair enough, I'll take my punishment, but the village was a 40 mph zone until very recently and all the other villages around here are still 40 mph (and the only reason our local village is now a 30 mph zone is because some of the local residents paid for the speed limit to be lowered out of their own pocket). The area where I was speeding would be a 40 mph is most parts of the UK. There were no houses, schools etc nearby.

I have a clean driving license and I want to keep it that way, so I'll pay to go on the speed awareness course (£87).

I see people driving past my house every single hour of the day in excess of 70 mph (I kid you not), in what is a 40 mph zone. They don't get fined in any way.

Arrggghhh!!!!!!! Ok .... I'll take the hit and I'll be more careful in future.

Oh .... nice little Zantedeschhia plant (also known as the Arum lily or Calla Lily), It grows out the front of my garden, but I have recently dug some up and I'm also growing it in my pond and bog garden. One of my favourites.

P.S. My car wing mirror was recently hit in a multi storey car park ... there were CCTV cameras in place, but the owners admitted not only did they NOT have any security guards on duty that day (a Saturday), but the only camera they turned on was to protect their security gate (and not the hundred cars parked there). Result? The bugger walks free of charge.

P.P.S. My wife takes her bike to work in Cambridge. She chains it inside her companies car park (supposed to be secure). CCTV cameras in place. yesterday, someone stole her rear wheel (why only the rear wheel)? The CCTV was "inconclusive".

Not our day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.