Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Sedge Warbler

For the past couple of weeks or so the whiffling of sedge warblers in the reedbeds has been all-encompassing.  Last year I managed to get really close to them a few times and was looking forward to doing so again, but the reserve is still suffering from flooding and path damage and this year - despite a longer lens - they are distinctly further away.  I spent a long time getting this shot and the bird is more distant than I'd like him to be, but it is at least very characteristic.

The other disappointment this year is that I've only once got shots of the kingfisher/s after last year's feast of them.  On the other hand, 2024 has so far provided views of the sparrowhawk bathing, the nuthatch, blackcap and bullfinch and the peregrine, plus catch, up on the cathedral - so I can't complain.

After this I did some gardening and went food shopping in town, where the promised rain did start a bit, though in fact today's weather's been much nicer than forecast.  May it be so for the rest of the week!!

Enjoy the rest of your day, dear folks, and have a good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.