MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

The Little Things That Run The World

I've posted tiny horse-chestnut leaf-miner moths a couple of times in the past. They're only about 5mm long. Their larvae are what causes the horrible brown blotches on horse chestnut leaves. Though this looks very unsightly it doesn't seem to harm the trees. Horse chestnuts are beautifully in candle at the moment, a bit earlier than usual.

I found another insect today that I felt sorry for, a bluebottle with a damaged wing. It ran all over me but couldn't fly. I was touched by how it tucked into the cow parsley nectar when I put it on a flower. At least it will die with a sweet taste in its mouth.

I found another Nomada bee hanging by its mandibles and have included it as the aspect differs from yesterday's shot.

Some of the little things that run the world on Earth Day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.