Coronation Invitation

My daughter brought her track Honda S2000 over as she wanted me to test drive it after work had been done. It goes so beautifully, reminds me of when I had my 2002 on the road. I much prefer the raw quality of the earlier models to the so-called facelifts.

I've collected some more items pictured in the Coronation Invitation for my personal challenge and arranged them on the newspaper image of it. I've included a cowslip, English ivy, English oak leaves, acorns, shamrock, daisies and a bird's eye speedwell. The bird's eye can just be seen in the Invitation by the blue boar bottom left and in my image above the word King. I didn't realise that shamrock is synonymous with clover. Does anybody know what the flower top left by the lion's left leg is? Is it a red rose?

The Coronation Invitation was mentioned in an article I read today. It is a reminder of the importance of our relationship with the natural world, and it is subtly telling us that this King will always be green at heart.

There is something about the King that goes to the heart of our British character and to our unexpressed connection to the world we live in. We might not share his connection with the snake's head fritillary, or with the holly blue or the benefits of a wildflower meadow, but collectively, we all live with certain knowledge that species and ecosystems are rapidly dwindling around us, in ways that leave us feeling both diminished and powerless.

Today is Earth Day.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.