helenann

By helenann

Clematis montana var rubens

This morning, I did a bit more tidying up of my mum's old  garden before  we visited A, my late aunt's best friend, and her daughter and son in law. I took an album I had found, of photos taken  at a school  reunion in 1987, when their year group were all fifty. A was able to tell me who all the people were, which was helpful. A few had attended my aunt's  funeral in February, and  I had written to others, at that  time.

This afternoon we invited my Mum's old neighbours in for coffee. They very kindly keep an eye on her house when we are not here. They are such a lovely, community-minded family. Their son volunteers as  a First Responder, but works as a plumber and has car mechanic skills too. He's the man every one is relieved to see in any kind of emergency!

This evening we walked into the local  town to treat ourselves to a meal in the very good Asian restaurant.

The blip is the Clematis flowering beautifully by the front door of my mum's house. The flowers are delicately  scented too. My parents planted it  years ago. We cut it back hard two years ago, and it has responded well to the pruning.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.