This'n'That

By Nanzy19

Xwaaqw'um Wetland Restoration

I had a good walk down Xwaaqw'um this morning. I thought that the sign about the wetland restoration project being done by the Stqeeye' Learning Society would be good to feature for Earth Day. What a fantastic project! Since the project began, I've talked to a few of the young workers from Cowichan Tribes who are working so hard to remove non-indigenous plants like Scotch broom and hawthorn and planting indigenous plants.
I've added a couple of extras with information from the sign because it's hard to read the sign in the main photo, if anyone's interested in reading about it. So good to witness some positive changes in one of my very favourite places. I seen a bit of the world and many beautiful places, and I feel incredibly lucky to live here, surrounded by nature.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.