Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Occupatus Vitae

I sorted through some stuff in drawers today, including the six in my late Dad’s desk. I was doing all right until I came across all his painting things - watercolour paints, brushes, glass jar, beautiful paper, rough sketches... I felt a terrible longing to see him and talk to him. That more or less put paid to the sorting for the day, and to change my mood I went out to the local post office and then Tesco’s for some top-up shopping. Too busy this week to drive all the way over to the big Sainsbury’s for a main shop. I’ve realised that I won’t get very far with the sorting until I have some sturdy boxes to start putting things in that I want to keep, otherwise the furniture I need to get rid of or repurpose will never be emptied out. Looking at them on Amazon and eBay, it seems strong double-wall boxes cost quite a bit. The ones I got from supermarkets are too flimsy to hold heavy items like books etc.

The sun has come out this afternoon, providing some good light to photograph my chosen item for Tiny Tuesday. It’s a beautifully turned little wooden box made of lignum vitae (“wood of life”), the lid of which screws perfectly onto the bottom to form a smooth object that looks a bit like a conker and is really nice to hold and handle. I have no idea how old it is, it’s just something I saw on eBay and took a fancy to as an interesting bit of treen.

Thank you to JDO for hosting April’s Tiny Tuesday challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.