HeidiHH

By HeidiHH

Life on crutches day 32

What a day it's been.

The Weather
Horrible everywhere. In big cities catastrophic. Trams not running. (Ice on the wires, so they can't get electricity.) Busses, cars, trucks sideways and stuck. Just mayhem. The icy water first and then add snow on top and you start to see people skiing to work on sidewalks in downtown Helsinki.

We haven't been on the worst affected area, but it's gotten very winter-y. I took some seed to birds, but they tend not to eat when it's snowing, so I hope they'll find the seeds still when it pauses. Tomorrow will bring some more snow, but from the afternoon the weather will turn warmer and we could possibly see some rays of sunshine. 

My Life
The other thing is that I got a call. Well, I had a job interview last Friday. I didn't get that job, but I got offered a nearly same post for the summer. June to August. The position that I applied for needed a nursing assistant degree, which I don't have. So I thought that it's a very slim chance that I get it, which makes me very happy that I got a summer job. The one that I applied for was for one department, the one that I got, is for the whole house. Same job, but I will be helping all the department, where the help is needed.



On top of that. If i feel that this is the thing for me, I have a possibility to get a practical nurse license while working. They have a position to be filled in one department, so... I have a summer to think about it. It will be 2 years of working and studying. 

If I choose not to go for the practical nurse license, after this summer I at least have experience of working as nursing assistant, which means that I can do those gigs that are available all over.



I'm actually happier that I got this position and not the one I applied for. This gives me more freedom. I can see how it feels, and I have committed for 3 months, not for 7. Perfect!



So tomorrow I need to call my current employer and plan my exit. As I will be working whole summer, I will try to have few weeks off before June.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.