talloplanic views

By Arell

That's it, it's war

My peace lily that came home from work with me at the start of the pandemic has been fairly healthy all this time, but I've had lots of little black flies coming out of thin air recently.  When I lifted the pot off its saucer I discovered my lily has been invaded by tiny things.  Thousands of them!  Each is semi-translucent and magnifying glass small: perhaps half a millimeter long with even tinier antennae and legs.

For the last couple of days I have been waging terrible war against them to break the breeding cycle which is, in the case of the ostensibly harmless but very annoying fungus gnats, distressingly rapid.  The larvae proved surprisingly resistant – I mean, they have antifreeze for blood for crying out loud – but I think I have the measure of them with vinegar in hot soapy water, and some homemade flypaper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.