Boomerang

By Boomerang

Calgary Dyke

Because it was such a beautiful morning, I decided to take Bertie back to Calgary again for his morning walk. I took today’s blip near the old pier that I blipped a few days ago. This is a dyke, not a man-made stone wall but a vertical sheet of rock that was once magma (molten rock) that had forced its way through a crack and solidified some time between 50 and 60 million years ago (give or take a million years!). There are lots of dykes across Mull, although this is probably the best example. They run in a south-easterly direction and some extend beyond Mull as far as north-east England. The longest one can be traced as far as Whitby in North Yorkshire, a distance of nearly 250 miles!
Geology lesson over, Bertie and I headed home for our breakfast before Nick and I headed off to the Community Library and Cafe. Nick got a great welcome as this was his first outing beyond home since his hospital visit over two weeks ago.
It was lovely to spend a couple of hours working in the garden after lunch and I managed to tidy a few corners before heading out with Bertie for our afternoon walk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.