CRIME SCENE ....

......OR WAS IT ?
I had quite a surprise today as I was strolling around the grounds of Jesus College, Cambridge. Suddenly, I came across this cordoned off site, with a notice..CRIME SCENE DO NOT CROSS. After watching for a minute, I realised that nobody moved, although they seemed like real people. I thought maybe it was a student stunt, like the human statues you see in shopping centres, but I was the only one in the garden. I watched the eyes, but no flicker of an eyelid, so on my way out, I called in the Porters Lodge to enquire about it. Amazingly they were sculptures by Harland Miller under the title, 'The Bigger The Searchlight The Larger The Circumference Of The Unknown,' 2008, aluminium, steel, polyurethane, paint and other materials.The cultural prominence of the crime scene scenario shifts attention instead onto the group, onto the workings of a system and methods of research. It certainly shifted my attention, it was an incredible work of art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.