Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Chris and his companions

Chris invited me to come meet Chloe today, and you know how people always lie when they meet you after 15 years and say, “You haven’t changed a bit”? Chloe really hasn’t changed a bit! She’s still tiny, curious, strong-willed, and active at 17. Chris put her in my lap, but she immediately jumped down and didn’t come to me again. I had no expectations in any case and loved watching her interact with Chris and Waylon (named for Waylon Jennings, whose music Chris admires). Waylon is NOT a Jack Russell as I mistakenly thought. He’s a Decker Hunting Terrier, ten years old, and from what I have read should not get along with a frisky little cat (but does) and should not live in an apartment (though he does, quite agreeably). 

I could kick myself for setting the aperture on 4 because my photos are great of Chris but terribly poor of Chloe, but as you can see, she is alive and well, and she doesn’t look a bit muddy and unfocused in person.

I love Waylon’s adoring upside-down gaze at Chris; Chloe’s stand-offish independence. Classic. In the extra Chloe allows herself to be cradled and sniffed, but Waylon knows who is boss (and it isn't Chris).

I’ve attached another extra of my Arizona grandaughter Crystal when she was ten, attempting to cuddle with the independent Chloe. Crystal now has three children and is fostering a fourth; she has changed much more than Chloe during these sixteen years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.