Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Margie and Terry

Margie and I played host to the One and Only, Still Performing, Internationally-appreciated Terry Baum today, in Portland for just a few days. Terry met us in our favorite coffee house and talked about the adjustments she has made to her play Hick, so that her 77 year old body can manage the energy and movement it requires. Terry starts another run of it in May. Margie did a great job of following the conversation, though I think by the time we parted she was exhausted by the effort.

Terry and I, friends since the early 80s, continued talking through dinner at an Indian restaurant and of course spoke of Gaza. The best recent development, we both think, is Naomi Klein’s speech at the Seder in the streets of New York yesterday, sponsored by Jewish Voices for Peace. If you haven’t heard it and want to hear Klein’s brilliant explanation of how the current Exodus for Jewish people is the Exodus from Zionism, click here and scroll ahead to the three-minute ten-second mark. If reading is better for you than listening, thanks to Melisseus I have this Guardian link to the same speech.

When I was searching for that old photo of my granddaughter Crystal yesterday, I found one of Margie from 2010, when she was only 83 (Extra). I showed it to her today, and she said, teasing, "That person looks vaguely familiar. I may have known her at one time. I have the feeling she was a lot smarter than I am." 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.