Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Armed robbery on One Street

During a break in the rain, a local reporter and cameraman were filming her evening news segment amid fallen cherry blossoms, talking about the armed robbery on my One Street.

I heard the sirens of multiple cop cars this morning. When I went to my haircut appointment at noon, Mary Nguyen, who cuts my thin, flyaway hair, asked me if I knew what had happened. At that point I was still clueless. This afternoon I grabbed a break in the rain to run some errands, and I saw the reporter and then went home to google breaking news in my neighborhood.

Why would anyone rob a bar at 10:30 in the morning? Apparently he didn’t get enough money to meet his needs (are we surprised?), so he robbed another bar and a then a deli, all before noon. News story is here if you’re interested. I’m relieved to know the police were not harassing or shooting a houseless person or a protester.

The good news is that university students all over the country are protesting the genocide in Gaza. University administrations are even dumber, in my opinion, than a robber hitting a bar in the morning. They're calling in riot cops and arresting students, faculty, and supporters who are peacefully demanding that universities divest from Israel and that our government stop funding the genocide. I’m surprised our local university hasn’t started an encampment yet. Portland State University's encampment was started this afternoon.They organized the first protest in Portland against the current Zionist attacks on Gaza.

Update: Cops demolished the PSU encampment on the first night. They are organizing to rise again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.