MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Boxing Clever - Spider Love

I have been watching the courtship of this pair of cucumber green orb spiders. They have been taking it in turns to strum the web they were sitting on, some distance from one another. Eventually she approached him and became quite submissive with her legs folded over her body. He kept tickling her and repeatedly stroking his boxing gloves. These black organs, the pedipalps are what he uses to transfer sperm to the female. At one point she got fed up and left but he enticed her back with his rhythmic web strumming.

I left them in a clinch to serve our meal. I have just been to check and there is no sign of him. Could she have scoffed him? I notice that she is guarding a nest of eggs. I'll have to keep an eye on them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.