Le Tour Fever

The Tour de France is coming to Essex on Monday. I drove part of the route this evening looking for a vantage point. Think I've hit on a great spot out in the country.

Moreton looked very festive with bunting stretched across the road and people along the way were putting out the flags. The woman in my pic told me that she has loads of yellow jerseys to hang on her perfectly manicured hedge. She had an American accent. Is that a stars and stripes windmill I can see?

I'm not really interested in cycling but this seems to have captured people's imaginations and there's already a great atmosphere.

I'll be looking out for Nellie, to whom my sister who lives in France taught English. The blonde twenty-year-old will be pedalling a static tandem on the Kris sunglasses lorry in the caravan.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.