flavia13

By flavia13

STRICTLY BLACKPOOL

We had a good fun day today and the weather was quite good too, well the odd spot of rain but not  much.

We left just after 9 and decided to go via the M6 as far as Junction 33 then down the A586 into Blackpool and park at the Houndshill Shopping Centre Car Park because it would have facilities.  We got there with no problems thanks to Google Maps no hold ups or too much traffic - yeah!!!

After parking we went for coffee and then headed to Show Town, he new museum that has recently opened up there.  It celebrates the stories of the comedians, dancers, acrobats and characters who turned Blackpool into the home of show business. 


It is an all singing all dancing museum with many interactive devices, obviously geared up for families mainly.  Still we made up for that, well Garron and I did - I did manage to persuade Hubby to take part in a couple of things but it's really not him so I wouldn't push, I'm just glad he was there and was our chauffeur for the day.  You can see some of the things Garron got up to in extras.  The first gallery included Strictly of course, so that was fun.

The staff we very friendly and helpful and obviously wanted  you to have fun.  Whilst I was playing the Clown's Car, whose hooter wouldn't work I was joined by The Ring Master and  clown both keen to ensure we were having a good time.

I was expecting more exhibits to do with the stars that have performed there really and a lot more on the stories, but for those you had to listen to those ad it was a bit noisy for that for me.  Still we did  have a lot of fun.

We would have gone up the Tower as I haven't done that since I was a young girl but it wasn't operating today.  You have to pay go visit the Ballroom, which I would have liked but its rather expensive for all 3 of us.  I must admit I don't know how families manage to afford everything as it is all so pricey.  At least Show Town is free to Local Residents.

After that we went to Harry Ramsden's, because of course when in Blackpool it has to be Fish & Chips doesn't it!!!!   We all the small portions and we are so glad we did as they were large enough for us.  The chips were OK but the Haddock Hubby and I had was really lovely and Garron had the Cod and said it was good too.

We then headed up so I could try and get a photo of the famous Winter Gardens.  The building is a beautiful Art Deco building but it is so difficult to get a photo of it as it is now engulfed by modern brick built squares, but I did try.  You will see that it is need to doing up, it's such a shame as it could be really lovely, imagine what that was like when you could see it from the Prom without all those non-descript buildings in the way!!!

After that we walked over to the North Pier, we didn't go along it too far as it would be too much for Garron but we enjoyed it.  We couldn't get on the beach because the tide was really high and it as all roped off.  

We then headed for Central Pier but came across the Comedy Carpet on the way.  Well to be honest it was kind of planned by me anyway as I knew G would love it and he did. He spent ages and took so many photos there.  

He was getting a bit dizzy again so we decided it was now time to head for home.  

We came  up the M55 and the M6 this time and it was lovely and quiet, we only got lost a little on the way to the M55 but we sorted that out.  

We got home about 4.00 pm, so a very full day.  I have many photos to edit these are just a handful that I thought you might like.  I will catch up on your blips either later or tomorrow.

Blackpool itself is like so many British Seaside Resorts now, very run down, but like In Morecambe they have done a lot along The Promenade which is very nice.  I would only visit Blackpool again to visit a specific attraction and if you've never been there are quite a number of attractions worth visiting, but like everywhere very expensive. 

Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.