flavia13

By flavia13

CHURCH OF ST MARY'S, ULVERSTON

A lovely day today.  G wanted to go back to Ulverston and Conishead Priory before he returns home tomorrow and as the weather was glorious today (for me the perfect weather).  

After our usual coffee (or in G's case Hot Chocolate) I left him at the book stall in the Market as per usual whilst I went to investigate whether the Church of St Mary's other wise known as UPC (Ulverston Parish Church) was open.  Yeah today it was.  There were a couple in there when I arrived other than that I had the place to myself.

It has an extremely wide aisle, one of the largest I've ever seen in anh church let alone a small parish one.  It does have some lovely and stained glass windows of course.  It appears to be a much loved and used church which is lovely to see. It is set up for a Nursery to take place in there as well as a lot of musical instruments for a band.  They will be having a musicfest there in June so are probably starting to set up and rehearse for that.

After that we went onto Conishead Priory for lunch.  G loves this place and it's atmosphere.  For me it's OK and I love to walk aroind the grounds sometimes.  Today after lunch we walked through part of the woods to see the bluebells.  It is a bit early but there were some out, not as many as I've seen there before though, but then there are still primroses out too so still a lovely walk.  

On the way home there had been some sort of accident on the A590 just beyond the traffic lights that leave the A5087 which we were on the tailback was horrendous.  So I drove on up through Ulverston and went out on the back road out of Ulverston, the B5287 through Broughton Beck towards Broughton-in-Furness but joins the A5092 at Gawthwaite then on down to Greenodd to rejoin the A590.  A long diversion but it was very very quiet and on a day like today absolutley stunning scenery - there were places where you caught glimpses of Lake Coniston and you could see The Old Man of Coniston and the Lake District fells - so BEAUTIFUL.  

It was a lovely drive home, so I'm glad that we had that diversion I just hope the accident wasn't serious.

In the extras is a sign which says what I have been saying about chocolate for years - so it's official now, CHOCOLATE IS SALAD!!!!!!

That's all for now do take care and stay safe and I will see you all soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.