Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Taxi

Tuesday now and I was the only person with a ticket to fly that day thanks to my travel company Trailfinders. I felt I dare not not take it.

The whole airbus flight of yesterday was booked in for Wednesday. 

I taxied in on my own half an hour to the airport and went to the by now very familiar desk. NO no the flight was full but I waived my phone ...  I had a ticket number, I had a screen shot of the ticket -  the travel agent had sent us that. NO! BA had cancelled that flight when I used last night standby ticket which didn't take off. WAS I on tomorrows flight?  - yes - but you know how little faith one can  have in that? 

I had to taxi back to hotel ( I wanted an Uber as it's cheaper but 4 big guys bore down on me) knowing I didn't have enough money and asked Si to meet me.

It all was incredibly stressful. I've gone through buckets of Imodium . I have left a great deal out as it was convoluted and complicated. I cannot class all the BA staff under the blanket of 'lying' yes lying - the majority were wonderful and helpful and considerate but when you are looked at in the eye and told a complete untruth then .....

I was worried about the taxi back to the hotel and took a screen shot of his plate. The last taxi in the dark to an hotel in SA  was a pastor who got into the back seat with me after another flight into  Cape Town asked me for my number. You are joking right? Moral of the story - don't take taxis if you are unsure of your travel companions.. There is a lot more to that story too but I'll leave it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.