Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Wild garlic

Last night I very much enjoyed the talk on tigers by the wildlife photographer Andy Parkinson. He has been to Bandhavgarh National Park in India to photograph tigers many times, and he was saying that on average 10 people are killed by tigers in that one park every year! I also noticed that he does not use a very long lens to photograph the tigers, often including more of the environment and natural habitat around the tiger than many other photographers would, as the norm seems to be to zoom in as much as possible so you end up with the animal filing the frame and no idea of what there habitat looks like.

This morning was sunny so in decided it was a good opportunity to go see the wild garlic growing in some woodlands near Dorking. However just before I left home I checked the route on google maps and saw that the road leading to the woodlands was closed so I could not get there unless I did a big detour, and I did not have time for that, so instead I went to a local Esher woods as I had heard there was also wild garlic blooming there. There was, masses of the stuff, covering the woodland like a white carpet. There were also many bluebells, see the extra of Xena next to the bluebells. What really caught my eye though was the beautiful copper beech tree in the morning sunshine, another extra as I really did not know which one to blip today.

After my walk I just had time to head home, make the plumbers some teas/coffee and then go to the hairdresser. By coincidence Tommy also went to get his hair cut today (at a different hairdresser), and each time it is cut it does get shorter and shorter but I do like it. It looks neat which is a good thing as he starts work on Monday. Actually these days in the city people dress informally for work and no one cares what your hair looks like. 

The painters have replaced the broken pipe and today they replaced the ceiling and sealed it, tomorrow it gets sanded and then painted. Hopefully it will look back to normal by Monday as we have South African friends visiting the UK and they are coming to our house for supper, and as they have never been to our house before it would be preferable that the first time they see it there is not a huge part of the ceiling missing!

I have also been busy preparing the papers for the camera club committee meeting next week, and then for the AGM which follows shortly after that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.