ZE1Christie

By ZE1Christie

Whitrit at Asta

A beautiful sunny day, warm in the sunshine.  Clouded over this evening, a couple of showers too.  Gentle breeze to flat calm tonight. 

Up early, a morning puttering about the house.  Popped by Laura's on my way to work.  Laura was out, but had a cuppa with Elise and Olly.  Late shift in the airport again, and a busy day.  I've mostly been meeting and boarding flights, with a lot of strange requests and queries.  All flights on time.  Walkies with Sammy, now feet up.  I saw a Skootie Allen (Arctic skua) at Sumburgh this morning, summer birds are home.

I took a detour on my way to work, with the intention of a brisk walk. My walk was abandoned not far into the journey.  As I drove through the valley, I spotted an animal running along the road, first thought was a kitten in danger but it ran into the neighbouring garden.  On inspection, I discovered it was a Whitrit, a Shetland name for a stoat, probably translated into white rat, as they can turn white in winter.  I've seen plenty of them over the years, but this is a first time capturing one in a photo.  They are super shy, especially when Sammy is close by.  Wearing my hi-vis work jacket, I was definitely seen, and he soon scampered when I went in for a second photo.  They are super cute, I'd love to get more photos of them.  Taken at Asta, Tingwall Valley.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.