Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Patterns

That title could apply almost as well to our days which do tend to take on certain patterns...bed at 9:30, up at 6:30, coffee somewhere, some kind of exercise, housekeeping chores when I can't stand it anymore, shopping, sewing, some sort of project, lunch (at 11:00 for John, 1:00 for me...there is a saying 'For better or worse but not for lunch'...) reading, puttering in the garden, blipping, wine, dinner, television....Clearly there are plenty of exceptions and thankfully there isn't a regular slot for doctor appointments, although there do seem to have been a lot of them lately....

Today my 'project time' was taken up with mending a favorite t-shirt. When we first moved here I began to notice little holes in the front of my t-shirts ...always in the same place in the front about four inches above  the hem. At first I thought it was silverfish or moths invading my closet but after a thorough turnout and wipe down no insects were found. After asking around I have decided that the most likely culprit is the seatbelt in my car. The woman in the shop where I buy quite a few t-shirts said it could also be rubbing up against the rough edge of a countertop, but I don't have any rough edged counters. I don't remember ever having this problem in Berkeley, but perhaps I didn't wear t-shirts that much. The shirt  I was working on this morning has stripes and, although I have developed fairly successful strategies for avoiding more damage, occasionally more holes appear. They really show on a striped shirt and when new ones appeared  in this particular shirt I was going to throw it away. But , perhaps inspired by the sashiko project, I decided to give it one last try.

Mending a t-shirt invisibly is a lot harder than applying a boro patch with sashiko stitching...done in heavy thread intended to be visible. My handiwork is far from invisible, and was a lot less fun, but may hold until I run across a replacement shirt. 

My old Berkeley friend, Connie is coming tomorrow for a visit, which will definitely break up the established patterns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.