Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

SP - Emergency Blip

Grenoble has truned out to be a bit of a dissapointment from a photograpic opportunity perspective. I imagined an old French town with lots of interesting architecture surrounded by mountains. The mountains are there, but the weather has not been good so they have been shrouded in mist and the town is all very new and decidedly uniteresting. I did take a picture of the team at the dinner table tonight, but I don't have the right cable with me to download the picture to the laptop and even if I did, it looks to be pretty poor.

So, desperate times call for desperate measures and I took a self portrait using the tablet.

Been another long day. I could have fallen asleep on more than one occassion. It's not that the discussions taking place aren't interesting, but being new to the role, most of them are just going over the top of my head. Hopefully things will get better in time assuming I get some time to absorb all of the information about the organization and how it operates.

Had lunch in the cafteria today. If this is typical of a French works canteen, then I'm moving to France. The choice of food was excellent as was the quality, and all at a very reasonablle price. I had a small salad and when I went to the condiments station to get a salad dressing, there was a huge bowl of green olives that you could help yourself to at no charge. Food heaven.

One of the guys, Maarten was on a fast day today. He does this once a fortnight and on a fast day, eats nothing at all and only drinks water. I doubt that I could do that full stop, but he even joined us in the restaurant but just sat and watched whilst we all ate. I think he is mad, but I have to admire his willpower.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.