Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

That Martha Wright!

Quite a sunny day today, but slightly more variable than the last few. I was surprised to see that the temperature had dropped overnight to minus 0.2C. We should still be careful about putting tender plants outside. I imagine that in the higher parts of Oban the temperature would have been even lower.

My Blip today is of Rhododendron 'Martha Wright', a hybrid produced in California by growers Maurie and Fran Wright. It was named not after the famous 19th century Women's Rights campaigner, nor the American actress, but after Fran's mother!

A hybrid of Rhododendron burmanicum and Rhododendron 'Fragrantissimum', it's a beautifully scented hybrid for milder areas. I have it growing on the bank above the house. 

Spent most of the day outside, potting, leaf-raking and weeding. I drove down to Homebase this afternoon to buy brackets to hang ladders from the back of the garage wall - a job for another day.

My bank is covered with wood anemones, Anemonoides nemorosa. They've always been there and seem happy to fill any spaces - beautiful plants and my extra today!

Quote of the Day: 'No matter how chaotic it is, wildflowers will still spring up in the middle of nowhere.” – Sheryl Crow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.